What is Hazard Mitigation?

Mitigation is one of the four phases of the Emergency Management cycle and differs from Preparedness, Response, and Recovery:

  1. Mitigation – Action taken to reduce long-term risk from natural hazards
  2. Preparedness – Planning and  training for response and recovery readiness
  3. Response – Mobilization of emergency services and first responders
  4. Recovery – Restoration to original state…or, better yet, mitigated (“built back better”)

Well planned mitigation helps reduce the loss of life and property from hazards.  It is also a wise use of public funds.  A 2006 study by the Institute for Building Science found that $4 was saved in post-disaster response and recovery for every $1 spent on pre-disaster mitigation;  this figure increases to $9 to $1 for flooding mitigation.

For helpful websites connected with Hazard Mitigation, click here.

Grant Eligibility Tied to Mitigation Planning

Responding to and mitigating for natural disasters has been a subject of increasing focus for the federal government in the past decades.  In 2003, a “current and approved” local hazard mitigation plan became a FEMA eligibility requirement for pre-disaster mitigation grants and the mitigation portion of post-disaster grant funds (i.e. after a Presidential Disaster Declaration).

Other federal agencies, such as HUD and the EPA,  are beginning to tie some grant programs to being part of an approved local hazard mitigation plan – this will probably be an increasing trend in the future.

For information on FEMA Mitigation Grant Programs, click here.

Plans in the Mid-Missouri Region

Hazard mitigation planning in the Mid-Missouri Region is carried out under contracts from the MO State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) and funded through FEMA planning grants. There is a 25% match requirement for each county’s planning process; this is met on an in kind basis through participation at planning meetings.

The hazard mitigation plans are multi-jurisdictional in that many local governments, school districts and special districts, are “participating jurisdictions”.  To be a “participating jurisdiction” each local government or school district will need to fill out either the data collection questionnaire for local government or the data collection questionnaire for schools and return it to Mid-MO RPC prior to the county’s kick-off meeting for updating the county’s plan, as well as be an active participant in the planning process, adopt the plan as its hazard mitigation plan, and is eligible to apply for FEMA mitigation grant funds. All  hazard mitigation plans can be found in the Hazard Mitigation Reports Library.

Basic Information on County Plans

Boone County – Current and Approved; expiration September 18, 2020

Participating Jurisdictions:   Boone County, Ashland, Centralia, Columbia, Hallsville, Harrisburg, Hartsburg, Huntsdale, Rocheport, Sturgeon, Centralia R-VI School District,  Columbia Public Schools, Hallsville R-IV School District, Harrisburg R-VIII School District, Southern Boone School District, Sturgeon R-V School District, Columbia College, Stephens College, University of Missouri.

Callaway County –   Current and Approved; expiration October 17, 2022

Participating Jurisdictions:  Callaway County, Auxvasse, Fulton, Holts Summit, Lake Mykee, Fulton Public Schools, North Callaway R-I School District, South Callaway R-II School District, Public Water Supply District #9.

Cole County – Current and Approved; expiration – August 31, 2021

Participating Jurisdictions:  Cole County, Jefferson City, Lohman, Russellville, St. Martins, St. Thomas, Taos, Wardsville, Cole County R-V School District, Jefferson City Public School District, Lincoln University.

Cooper County – Current and Approved; expiration – June 29, 2022

Participating Jurisdictions:  Cooper County, Boonville, Bunceton, Otterville, Pilot Grove, Wooldridge, Boonville R-I School District, Prairie Home R-V School District, Linneman-Weekly Levee District, Overton-Wooldridge Levee District

Howard County – Current and Approved; expiration – October 16, 2022

Participating Jurisdictions:  Howard County, Armstrong, Fayette, New Franklin, Glasgow, New Franklin R-I School District, Howard County R-II School District, Fayette R-III School District, Central Methodist University, Howard Co. Consolidated Public Water Supply District #1, Howard County Regional Water Commission

Moniteau County – Current and Approved; expiration – October 16, 2022

Participating Jurisdictions:  Moniteau County, California, Clarksburg, Jamestown, Lupus, Tipton,Clarksburg C-II School District, High Point R-III School District, Jamestown C-I School District,Moniteau Co. R-I School District,Moniteau Co. R-V School District, Tipton R-VI School District


(Updated 3/14/2019)